Planning controls

At the local government level in New South Wales, land use planning is guided by two main documents:

  • A Local Environmental Plan (LEP), which is a legal document that provides controls and guidelines for development in a given area. It determines what can be built, where it can be built, and what activities can occur on land.
  • Development Control Plans (DCP), which supplement the corresponding LEP with more detailed planning controls.

Other planning documents may also affect development within the Inner West Council area. These include State Government controls – such as the State Environment Planning Policies (SEPP) – as well as Council-specific codes, policies and strategies.

Inner West Council was formed in May 2016 by the merger of the former Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville councils. The planning controls, codes and policies from each former council area remain in place until further notice.

If you're not sure which former council area applies to your property, select your suburb from the list below:

This suburb is located in the former Ashfield Council area.

This suburb is located in the former Leichhardt Council area.

This suburb is located in the former Marrickville Council area.

In this section

LEPs DCPs Planning proposal application process Additional codes and policies Section 94/94A contribution levies Previous planning controls and codes Heritage and conservation


Your Say Inner West website
The community engagement hub where you can get involved in important projects that shape the future of the Inner West.





Follow the links below to find contact details and services in your area: