General manager and senior staff

Inner West Council employs over 1,250 staff, organised into various sections with different responsibilities. 

Senior staff

Peter Gainsford – General Manager

  • People and Culture
  • Legal Services

Performance agreement for the General Manager, 2021 (PDF 3.5MB)

Simone Plummer - Director Planning

  • Planning
  • Environment and Sustainability 
  • Regulatory Services
  • Sports and Recreation

Peter Livanes - Director Corporate

  • Business Excellence and Customer Service 
  • Finance
  • ICT
  • Governance and Risk 
  • Property and Strategic Investments 
  • Procurement 

Ruth Callaghan - Director Community

  • Children's Services
  • Community Wellbeing
  • Communications, Engagement and Corporate Strategy
  • Events
  • Libraries and Community Venues 
  • Living arts
  • Social and Cultural Planning

Cathy Edwards-Davis - Director Infrastructure

  • Capital Works
  • Engineering Services
  • Facilities Management
  • Operations
  • Traffic and Transport Planning
  • Urban Forest 

Internal Ombudsman

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful48.28% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful51.72% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 14 Apr 2022