Inner West Local Planning Panel

Council has created an independent hearing and assessment panel to make independent determinations on development (and related) applications that are referred to it.

The panel is known as the Inner West Local Planning Panel. It replaces the meetings of the former Marrickville, Ashfield and Leichhardt councils where applications were previously considered and determined. All decisions made by the Panel are final.

Panel meeting dates

Meetings are generally held on the second Tuesday of the month. The location of these meetings will vary, and the location of the meeting will be published with the agenda. Depending on the number of items to be considered, the meeting will usually be conducted in two sessions: the first commencing at 2pm.

The agenda will be made available by 5pm on the Tuesday prior to the meeting. On-site inspections may be carried out on the day of the Panel meeting so Panel members can acquaint themselves with the site and relevant issues. Inspections are not open to the general public. Council staff will be available to the Panel during inspections and meetings to answer questions and clarify issues.

Meeting dates for 2021

Date Location
Tuesday, 2 February 2021 Teleconference
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 Teleconference
Tuesday, 16 March 2021 Teleconference
Tuesday, 13 April 2021 Teleconference
Tuesday, 11 May 2021 Teleconference
Tuesday, 8 June 2021 Teleconference

Council's CEO may also call for additional meetings of the panel to be held, subject to demand.

Agendas and minutes

Addressing the panel

Members of the public wishing to address the Panel regarding an agenda item must register by 12 midday on the day prior to the meeting (excluding weekends and public holidays).

Registered speakers must have already lodged a written submission on the development application (DA) they wish to address or must provide a brief written summary no greater than one A4 page, outlining the issues they wish to raise to the panel coordinator by 12 noon on the day prior to the meeting (excluding weekends and public holidays).

Additional submissions from either applicants or submitters shall be no greater than one A4 page (in total), and must be confined to the specific matters upon which the person seeks to address the Panel. These must be submitted no later than 12 midday at least 4 business days prior to the meeting. Any material, including additional documents, reports and amended plans, will not be received or considered by the Panel at the meeting.

All speakers (objector, applicant or supporter) addressing the panel will be limited to 3 minutes to address the panel in respect of any one item before any particular meeting, unless the Panel otherwise permits. The chairperson opens the meeting and introduces the Panel members. The order of business is set out in the agenda. Copies of the agenda will be available on Council's website on the Tuesday prior to the meeting. As each item is referred to, the applicant and objectors are invited to speak for 3 minutes. The panel members may ask questions of the addressees. It is not necessary to repeat information already provided in the report to the panel. Once all speakers have addressed the Panel on the item, the panel will deliberate and determine each item. The panel may adjourn to deliberate if they feel it necessary. 

The planning panel coordinator can be contacted on 02 9392 5060.

Register to address the IWLPP


Determinations and any relevant decision of the Panel shall be made by a majority vote and is recorded for the public record. Minutes will generally be available on Council's website as soon as possible following the meeting.

Panel Members

The Panel consists of four members, drawn from a 'pool' of members. Each panel will include a Chairperson; two experts with experience and qualifications in planning, architecture, heritage, the environment, urban design, economics, traffic and transport, law, engineering, tourism, or government and public administration; and one community representative who has knowledge and awareness of the Local Government Area, the planning process and assessment issues.

Panel members include:


  • Adjunct Professor David Lloyd QC

Alternative Chairs

  • The Hon Angus Talbot
  • Mr Kevin Hoffman

Expert Members

  • Ms Lindsey Dey
  • Mr David Johnson
  • Ms Jan Murrell
  • Mr John McInerney
  • Mr Ian Stapleton
  • Mrs Mary-Lynne Taylor
  • Ms Annelise Tuor

Community Representatives

  • Mr Ken Hawke
  • Ms Kath Roach
  • Ms Heather Warton

All members of the Panel are bound by the Code of Conduct for Local Planning Panel Members. A copy of the code as well as operational procedures set by the Minister for Planning can be found at the Department of Planning's website.

The Panel has delegated some [minor] matters back to Council staff to determine, so that waiting times are reduced.

Memorandum- Operations of the Inner West Local Planning Panel. Dated 12 February 2019(PDF 125KB)

Memorandum - Operations of the Inner West Local Planning Panel - Further Delegations. Dated 19 August 2019(PDF 169.1KB)

For local procedures, please see the document below.

Local Operational Guidelines (PDF 138KB)

Disclosure Returns

Kenneth Hawke (PDF 114.9KB)
Angus Talbot (PDF 149.3KB)
Annelise Tuor (PDF 84.2KB)
David Johnson (PDF 5.2MB)
David Lloyd (PDF 1.5MB)
Heather Warton (PDF 542.6KB)
Ian Stapleton (PDF 195.5KB)
Jan Murrell (PDF 39.6KB)
John McInerney (PDF 3.2MB)
Kath Roach (PDF 3.2MB)
Kevin Hoffman (PDF 1.3MB)
Lindsey Dey (PDF 4.7MB)
Mary-Lynne Taylor (PDF 372.2KB)


Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful26.67% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful73.33% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 23 Jan 2021