Strategies and policies for development

Inner West Council has a number of codes and policies that provide additional information and guidance to the controls within the relevant Local Environmental Plan (LEP) and Development Control Plan (DCP).

Inner West Council was created in 2016 from a merger of Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville councils. Until a combined set of codes and policies are developed for the new council, the codes and policies from the former councils still apply within their former boundaries.

If you're not sure which former council area is relevant to you, see the list of suburbs under each heading.

Former Ashfield Council area

Former Leichhardt Council area

Former Marrickville Council area

Applies to the following suburbs:

List of suburbs in the former Ashfield Council area

  • Ashbury
  • Ashfield
  • Croydon
  • Croydon Park
  • Haberfield
  • Hurlstone Park
  • Summer Hill

List of suburbs in the former Leichhardt Council area

  • Annandale
  • Balmain
  • Balmain East
  • Birchgrove
  • Camperdown (north of Parramatta Road)
  • Leichhardt
  • Lilyfield
  • Rozelle

List of suburbs in the former Marrickville Council area

  • Camperdown (south of Parramatta Road)
  • Dulwich Hill
  • Enmore
  • Lewisham
  • Marrickville
  • Newtown
  • Petersham
  • Stanmore
  • St Peters
  • Sydenham
  • Tempe

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful33.33% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful66.67% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 11 Mar 2019