Sections 7.11 and 7.12 Contributions

Section 7.11 and 7.12 development contributions plans (under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act) are utilised to service the needs of expected future population and employment growth in the area. Sections 7.11 and 7.12 were formerly known as sections 94 and 94A, respectively, prior to changes to the Act.

These plans outline the contributions to be made from particular developments and identify the public services and amenities that the funds are directed to.  The contributions to be paid, are detailed within conditions of development consents or conditions within complying development certificates.

In 2016, the new Inner West Council inherited seven (7) development contributions plans from former Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville.  In the future, these plans will be replaced by a single Inner West section 7.11 & section 7.12 development contributions plan.

Former Ashfield Council area

Former Leichhardt Council area

A draft section 7.12 development contributions plan has been prepared for the former Leichhardt Area of the Inner West.

The draft plan consists of:

  • Details of the levy to be charged to particular development under the plan
  • The land and development affected
  • The plan exemptions
  • A schedule of public amenities and services that are to be funded under the plan and maps of their locations
  • How the levy is calculated and indexed

The former Leichhardt area is the only part of the Inner West that currently does not have a section 7.12 plan in place.  This is a harmonisation project that ensures that section 7.12 contribution levies are applied equitably throughout the Inner West, until a single new contributions plan is in place, for the whole area.

The draft plan is currently on public exhibition until Sunday 31 May 2020.

The draft plan can be accessed and commented on via this link

List of suburbs in the former Ashfield Council area

  • Ashbury
  • Ashfield
  • Croydon
  • Croydon Park
  • Haberfield
  • Hurlstone Park
  • Summer Hill

List of suburbs in the former Leichhardt Council area

  • Annandale
  • Balmain
  • Balmain East
  • Birchgrove
  • Camperdown (north of Parramatta Road)
  • Leichhardt
  • Lilyfield
  • Rozelle

List of suburbs in the former Marrickville Council area

  • Camperdown (south of Parramatta Road)
  • Dulwich Hill
  • Enmore
  • Lewisham
  • Marrickville
  • Newtown
  • Petersham
  • Stanmore
  • St Peters
  • Sydenham
  • Tempe

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful7.14% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful92.86% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 21 May 2020