Bushcare programs

friends-of-camperdown-cemetery-bushcare-calendar-360x284Come along and join our bushcare volunteers. Spend a few hours with your hands in the soil while caring for and learning about our local plants and environment.

New volunteers welcome. No experience is required. Gloves, tools, plants, mulch and morning tea are provided. No need to book – just turn up!

There are several volunteer bushcare sites in the Inner West Council area to choose from. For more information on these sites, please click on the links provided.

Ashfield area program

Download the Ashfield Working Bee Dates here

Sites include:

  • Cadigal Reserve, Summer Hill
  • Richard Murden Reserve, Haberfield

Leichhardt area program

Sites include:

  • Balmain High, Balmain
  • Callan Park, Rozelle
  • Mort Bay Park, Birchgrove
  • Whites Creek, Annandale

Balmain High Bushcare

Meets: every third and fourth Sunday of the month at the end of Bayville Street, Balmain
Time: 9:30am to 12pm
Contact: Bronwen Campbell on 9810 7217

Callan Park Bushcare

Meets: every Friday from 9:00am to 1:00pm and the first Sunday of the month from 9:30am to 12:00pm, above where the Bay Run meets King George Oval. Location map available on request.
Contact: Sue Pritchard on 9392 5175 or at sue.pritchard@innerwest.nsw.gov.au

Mort Bay Park Bushcare

Meets: corner of McKell and Cameron Streets on Thursdays
Time: 9:00am
Contact: Sue Pritchard on 9392 5175 or at sue.pritchard@innerwest.nsw.gov.au

Rozelle Bay Community Native Nursery

Meets: every Wednesday and Friday at the nursery, Wisdom Street, Annandale
Time: 9:00am to 12:30pm
Contact: Sue Pritchard on 9392 5175 or at sue.pritchard@innerwest.nsw.gov.au

Whites Creek Bushcare

Meets: every Wednesday at the Rozelle Bay Community Native Nursery, Wisdom Street, Annandale
Time: 9:00am to 12:30pm
Contact: Sue Pritchard on 9392 5175 or at sue.pritchard@innerwest.nsw.gov.au

Marrickville area program

Sites include:

  • Camperdown Cemetery
  • Marrickville Landcare

Camperdown Cemetery

Working bee dates for 2017

  • Saturday 18 February: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Thursday 16 March: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Saturday 22 April: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Thursday 18 May: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Saturday 17 June: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Thursday 20 July: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Saturday 19 August: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Thursday 21 September: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Saturday 21 October: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Thursday 16 November: 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Saturday 16 December: 9.30am – 12.30pm

Where: St Stephen's Church, off Church St, Newtown

Marrickville Landcare

Working bee dates for 2018

  • Sunday 28 January, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 28 February, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Sunday 25 March, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 18 April, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Sunday 27 May, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 27 June, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Sunday 22 July, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 22 August, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Sunday 23 September, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 24 October, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Sunday 25 November, 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Wednesday 18 December, 9.30am – 12.30pm

Where: Near the clubhouse, Marrickville Golf Course, off Wharf Street
 

For more information or if you would like to register as a volunteer, contact Council's Team Leader – Biodiversity on (02) 9392 5000 or email council@innerwest.nsw.gov.au

Inner West Environment Group

The Inner West Environment Group (IWEG) manages a number of bushcare sites along the GreenWay in Dulwich Hill.

  • Johnson Park
  • Pigott Street
  • Waratah Mills 

More information on these working bees can still be found at the IWEG website.

YOUR SAY INNER WEST

Your Say Inner West website
The community engagement hub where you can get involved in important projects that shape the future of the Inner West.

 

CONNECT WITH US

 

SERVICES IN YOUR AREA

Follow the links below to find contact details and services in your area: