2020 Built Environment Award winners

Monday 11 May 2020

A former Temperance Hall in Balmain that has been converted into five apartments has won the 2020 Marrickville Medal for Conservation.

The judges commented that the conversion, by Mike Macaulay Architects, had retained the significance of the historic building, while creating contemporary and innovative new designs.

The "juxtaposition of the historic structure and the contemporary architectural expression has created a lively conversation between old and new," the citation said.

The result "demonstrates the possibilities for positive heritage outcomes by the creative partnership between a supportive owner and an enthusiastic architect."

Highly commended were: conservation and repair works to Leichhardt Town Hall, the renovation of a circa 1914 timber house in Dulwich Hill and the new Marrickville Library.

The winner of the open category of the Urban Photography Awards is Serkan Ogdum for Symmetry In Time.

Charlie Moore won the Secondary School category and Jesper Svensson took out the Primary School category.

This year's Marrickville Medal judges were Scott MacArthur, a conservation architect and President of the Marrickville Heritage Society, and Matt Devine, an architect and heritage specialist.

Michael Nicholson, an award-winning commercial photographer who specialises in architectural and interiors photography, judged the Urban Photography Awards.

The Marrickville Medal for Conservation has been awarded annually since 1995 and was one of the first of its kind in New South Wales.

It celebrates built conservation works that contribute to the understanding and preservation of the Inner West’s rich cultural and architectural heritage.

The Urban Photography Competition encourages engagement with the Inner West Council urban landscape, and must in some way feature, reference or comment on heritage attributes of the Inner West our built environment.

For a full list of finalists, go to www.innerwest.nsw.gov.au/BuiltEnvironmentAwards

For a print quality image of the winning entries, or an interview with a property owner or architect, contact the Communications team.

For media enquiries, contact Elizabeth Heath | Media and Communications Coordinator | 9392 5334 | Elizabeth.Heath@innerwest.nsw.gov.au


Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful100.00% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 11 May 2020