Sydney Mayors make a stand on Federal climate policy

Wednesday, 8 May 2019

MAYORS FROM SYDNEY COUNCILS have joined forces to demand that the next Federal Government take swift action to tackle climate change in a joint statement released today.

Mayors from City of Sydney, Inner West, Randwick and Ryde, together with councils from the Cities Power Partnership, Australia’s largest local government climate alliance, are demanding more Federal support for local work on climate change, commitment to a national 100% renewable energy target and rapid phase out of fossil fuel subsidies.

Inner West Mayor Darcy Byrne said that local governments have been driving renewable energy forward in regions and cities, and that it is time to prioritise local action as a vital part of Australia’s climate solution.

“Local governments have been supporting Australia’s renewable energy transformation, in the absence of credible Federal climate policy,” he said.

“We call on the next Federal Government to ensure that local councils are fully funded to tackle climate change. With Federal funding local government can help to change the energy sector.

“The mayors I stand with today are firmly committed to developing regional climate solutions for their communities - but we need national resources and support to do it.”

Climate Councillor Professor Tim Flannery said that the next Federal Government must act swiftly to avert a climate crisis - and that means supporting local solutions.

“ Australia is not on track to meet its greenhouse gas pollution targets, and without decisive action we’re speeding rapidly towards a climate crisis,” he said.

“Mayors are making a stand to demand that our next Federal leaders commit to meaningful action on climate change - and that means switching to renewable energy and ending subsidies for the dirty coal and gas industries that are putting our communities at risk of serious climate damage.”

City of Ryde Mayor Jerome Laxale said that the next Federal Government could learn a lot from the climate leadership shown by Sydney’s councils.

“At a local government level, Sydney is making great inroads into tackling climate change. Last year in City of Ryde we passed a motion to divest from fossil fuels and shift our investments to clean energy. It’s time for our national leaders to catch up.”

“The past year, the hottest on record, has shown us that the time to act on climate change is now. We’re already feeling the impacts of extreme heat in Sydney, and many of our residents, particularly the elderly and vulnerable, are suffering.”

“To effectively prepare our city for a changing climate we need more resources and targeted policy from the Federal Government supporting local clean energy and climate solutions to safeguard the future of our communities.”


As members of the Cities Power Partnership local government climate alliance, we demand national action and call upon the Federal Government to join us in making tackling climate change the top priority.

At the local level we’re working with our communities and with each other to develop a strong climate response, and to support Australia’s shift to clean energy.

All tiers of government have a role to play in driving down Australia’s greenhouse gas pollution, and we need swift action at the Federal level to address our escalating national emissions.

We demand three major actions from our Federal leaders:

● Strong national climate policy aligned to the science and a national commitment to rapidly transitioning to 100% clean energy
● Support the rapid phase out of fossil fuel subsidies which contribute to climate change
● Provide long-term finance to support implementation of clean energy and sustainable transport, such as rooftop solar, battery storage, electric vehicle charging stations, public and active transport infrastructure in council and community areas

Cr Clover Moore, Lord Mayor, City of Sydney
Cr Michael Lyon, Acting Mayor, Byron Shire Council
Cr Julia Leu, Mayor Douglas Shire Council
Cr Dominic King, Mayor Bellingen Council
Cr Amanda McLaren, Mayor Strathbogie Council
Cr Frank Wilkie, Acting Mayor, Noosa Council
Cr Ken Keith OAM, Mayor, Parkes Shire Council
Cr Darcy Byrne, Inner West Council
Cr Kathy Neilson, Mayor of Randwick Council
Cr Pam Townshend, Shire President, Augusta Margaret River, WA
Cr David Gill , Mayor Mornington Peninsula Mayor, VIC
Cr Renée McLennan, Mayor, Town of Bassendean
Cr Ann Ferguson, Mayor, Mount Barker
Cr Natalie Abboud, Mayor, Moreland City Council
Cr Jerome Laxale, Mayor, City of Ryde

For more information please contact the Cities Power Partnership media team on 0487 003 872 or email                      

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful100.00% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 10 May 2019