Council installs rainbow Pride Seats to recognise LGBTIQ community advocates

Thursday, 8 November 2018

Inner West Mayor Darcy Byrne has unveiled seven rainbow Pride Seats, which recognise Council’s unwavering support for the LGBTIQ community.

Each Pride Seat contains a unique plaque dedicated to an Inner West person or organisation who has campaigned for or contributed to LGBTIQ rights over the years.

“Our LGBTIQ residents are a strong and vocal part of our community, and they’ve played a huge role in shaping the character of our area,” said Inner West Mayor Darcy Byrne.

Our Pride Seats will ensure that passers-by - those who use them to take a rest, or those who sit upon them to take in all the hustle and bustle of the Inner West - will be reminded of the contributions and sacrifices of those who fought for LGBTIQ rights.”

Street Furniture Australia, which provided the seats, said its donation was an acknowledgment of Council’s long-term advocacy on behalf of the Inner West’s LGBTIQ community.

Councillor Pauline Lockie, who moved the original motion at Council, said she was delighted to see the Pride Seats come to life across our Inner West.

“The Inner West has played a key role in Australia’s queer history. And our new Pride Seats celebrate the historic achievement of marriage equality in Australia, as well as the local Inner West activists who’ve fought so hard for LGBTIQ rights.

“I was honoured to bring this opportunity to Council in February, and I’m very glad to see our rainbow seats recognise the incredible contribution residents have made in this area,” she said.

The local activists who have been recognised are:


Recipient                                                                          Location of Pride Seat

Alexander 'Lex' Watson                                              Marrickville Road, Marrickville

The Feminist Bookshop                                             Orange Grove Plaza, Lilyfield

Roberta Perkins                                                              Australia Street, Newtown

Robyn Plaister                                                                  Norton Street, Leichhardt

The Pollys Club                                                                Marrickvillle Road, Marrickville

Timothy J Bishop                                                            Lackey Street Piazza, Summer Hill

Peter Bonsall-Boone                                                   Darling Street, Rozelle
and Peter de Waal     

For further information, please contact John Roper at




Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful100.00% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 13 Nov 2018