Ashfield Civic Centre to host 2018 Pauline McLeod Awards

Celebrating selfless community members and the creativity of local students will be the focus of the 2018 Pauline McLeod Awards held this year in Ashfield as part of National Reconciliation Week celebrations. 

The Pauline McLeod Awards for Reconciliation, the Pauline McLeod High School Short Film Competition, and the Pauline McLeod Reconciliation Week Primary School Art Competition will be presented at Ashfield Service Centre on Thursday, 24 May from 5pm until 7:30pm. 

Through her work as a cultural educator, Pauline McLeod led and inspired Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians towards understanding, acceptance and healing. She was an icon in Australian media and entertainment who worked across many platforms to teach and celebrate her Aboriginal heritage with an Australian audience of all ages. The awards honour her legacy. 

Each award aims to celebrate and give recognition to community members who are ‘silent achievers’ who work diligently in promoting reconciliation through their selfless community action. 

Nominations can be made in the following categories: Youth Award (12-14 years) or Open Category (25 years+).

Anyone can be nominated, however they must either live, work or study in Inner West, City of Sydney, Bayside, Randwick, Waverley or Woollahra councils who make up the Eastern Region Local Government Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Forum (ERLGATSIF) that organises the awards each year. 

The Pauline McLeod Awards celebrate the communities across all six Councils and celebrate reconciliation across the region. 

For entries to the Pauline McLeod High School Short Film Competition, high school students are asked to create a short film of three to five minutes duration on the theme of ‘Our living cultures’. 

For entries to the Pauline McLeod Primary School Art Competition, primary school students are asked to submit art works also on the theme of ‘Our living cultures.’ 

Nominations are due by 4 May and can be made on the Inner West Council website at 

RSVP to the awards ceremony to Deborah Lennis by Saturday, 19 May 2018 via phone 9392 5755 or email 

For any questions regarding the competition, please contact the ERLGATSIF Coordinator Monica Stevens via phone 9392 5880 or email

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful0% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 30 Jul 2018