Still time to nominate for Inner West Council elections

Wednesday 19 July 2017

Inner West Council is reminding local citizens that there is still time to nominate as a candidate for the local government elections on Saturday 9 September.

Nominations for the elections open Monday 31 July and close 12 noon on Wednesday 9 August.

As well, Council is encouraging women, young people and people from non-English speaking backgrounds to consider standing

“Women make up just over half of the population, but only about a quarter of councillors in local government in NSW,” said Inner West Council Administrator Richard Pearson.

“This means that in many communities across NSW the voices of women are missing from debate and decision-making.

“It’s important that the people we elect to represent us actually reflect the diversity of our communities.

“So not only women, but also people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, people with a disability, young people…all these demographics are under-represented on local councils,” Mr Pearson said.

Two candidate information sessions are scheduled:

  • Leichhardt Service Centre, 7-15 Wetherill Street Leichhardt, Thursday 20 July, 6.30pm
  • Ashfield Service Centre, 260 Liverpool Road Ashfield, Tuesday 15 August, 6.30pm

RSVP to Council by emailing

The NSW Electoral Commission provides videos, presentations and information on the six steps to becoming a candidate for local government elections. Visit the Vote NSW website for more information on candidates and groups.

Voting is compulsory in areas where elections are being held (such as Inner West Council), and citizens can check they are correctly enrolled at the enrolment verification facility.

Electoral rolls for each council area will be printed at 6pm on Monday 31 July, but it is still possible to update names or addresses at a pre-poll venue or polling place, through a process known as ‘Enrol and Vote’.

Pre-poll voting opens Monday 28 August to Friday 8 September at:

  • Ashfield Service Centre, 260 Liverpool Road Ashfield
  • Inner West Returning Officer's Office, 373-383 Illawarra Road Marrickville
  • Leichhardt Town Hall, 107 Norton Street Leichhardt
  • Sydney Town Hall, 483 George Street Sydney

Non-resident ratepayers (eg businesses) can also apply to vote. Claims for inclusion on the non-residential roll must be submitted to Council by 6pm, 31 July 2017. For more information visit Non-residential enrolment

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful0% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 06 Aug 2018