Become a candidate at Inner West Council elections

Tuesday 11 July 2017

Inner West Council is encouraging all citizens to consider becoming a candidate at the forthcoming local government elections.


Council encourages diversity among its councillors and is particularly urging women, young people and people from non-English speaking backgrounds to consider standing.

Two candidate information sessions will be held in the coming weeks:

  • Leichhardt Service Centre, 7-15 Wetherill Street Leichhardt, Thursday 20 July, 6.30pm
  • Ashfield Service Centre, 260 Liverpool Road Ashfield, Tuesday 15 August, 6.30pm

RSVP to Council by emailing

“Women make up just over half of the population, but only about a quarter of councillors in local government in NSW,” said Inner West Council Administrator Richard Pearson.

“This means that in many communities across NSW the voices of women are missing from debate and decision-making.

“It’s important that the people we elect to represent us actually reflect the diversity of our communities.

“So not only women, but also people from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, people with a disability, young people…all these demographics are under-represented on local councils,” Mr Pearson said.

The NSW Electoral Commission provides videos, presentations and information on the six steps to becoming a candidate for local government elections. Visit the Vote NSW website for more information on candidates and groups.

The local government elections are now just two months away, and the electoral commission is urging all eligible voters to check their enrolment details are correct.

On Saturday 9 September 2017, voters will elect 15 new councillors – three for each of the five wards.

To be eligible to vote, citizens must be registered by 6pm, 31 July 2017. Go to Vote NSW website 'check my enrolment' webpage.

Pre-poll voting is open from Monday 28 August to Friday 8 September at:

  • Ashfield Service Centre, 260 Liverpool Road Ashfield
  • Inner West Returning Officer's Office, 373-383 Illawarra Road Marrickville
  • Leichhardt Town Hall, 107 Norton Street Leichhardt
  • Sydney Town Hall, 483 George Street Sydney 

Non-resident ratepayers (eg businesses) can also apply to vote. Claims for inclusion on the non-residential roll must be submitted to Council by 6pm, 31 July 2017. For more information visit Vote NSW residential rolls web page.

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful0% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 04 Aug 2018