Council supports Police calls for Alcohol Free Zones

A number of Alcohol Free Zones will be established in a number of parks and streets in Ashfield following a request from Ashfield Police and consultation with the local community.

Administrator Richard Pearson said Ashfield Police had identified a number of locations they wanted established as Alcohol Free Zones to address anti-social behaviour by individuals and groups of people drinking in these public places.

“Council is committed to working with the Police to address anti-social behaviour and alcohol related incidents in the local area,” Mr Pearson said.

“After taking into account feedback from local residents, Council recommended that the enforcement period in parks not come into operation until 9pm rather than 6pm as originally requested by the Police.

“This strikes a balance between people wanting to enjoy the local amenities and the ability for Police to address any anti-social behaviour and ensure residents safety isn’t compromised.”

The restrictions will all be reviewed in 12 months.

Alcohol Prohibited Areas will be in place from 9pm to 7am seven days a week in the following parks and reserves:

  • Bill Peters Reserve,
  • Darrell Jackson Park,
  • Allman Park,
  • Ashfield Park,
  • Centenary Park,
  • Hammond Park,
  • Pratten Park, and
  • Summer Hill Fountain
  • Yeo Park.

Alcohol-Free Zones will also operate 24 hours a day seven days a week at the following locations:

  • Chessell Lane, Ashfield
  • Fox’s Lane, Ashfield
  • Hercules Street, Ashfield
  • Summer Hill Car Park
  • The Esplanade, Ashfield
  • Directly outside the Exodus Foundation on Liverpool Road, Ashfield; and
  • Directly outside the Catholic Club on Station Street, Ashfield (including from the intersection of Elizabeth and Charlotte Streets).

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful0% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful100.00% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 03 Jun 2022