COVID-19 Disaster Payment

Find out if you’re eligible for the Australian Government COVID-19 Disaster Payment

The Australian Government Chief Medical Officer has declared Greater Sydney, the Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Wollongong COVID-19 hotspots for the purposes of Commonwealth support.

The COVID-19 Disaster Payment for the new local government areas will become available on 1 July 2021 for eligible people in these areas. This payment is for people who reside or work in a Commonwealth declared hotspot and can’t attend work as a result of state imposed health restrictions lasting greater than one week.

Eligible people will receive $500 if they’ve lost 20 hours or more of work, and $325 if they’ve lost less than 20 hours of work. They must not have liquid assets of more than $10,000 or be in receipt of other payments.

The original 7 LGAs that were declared on the 23rd June 2021, City of Sydney, Waverley, Randwick, Canada Bay, Inner West, Bayside, Woollahra will have their COVID-19 Disaster Payments available from the 1st July 2021.

For more information and to check your eligibility for payments, visit: or

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful66.67% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful33.33% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 30 Jun 2021