Inner west parks free and non-ticketed on new year’s eve

Friday 29 December 2023

The Inner West Council has made all of it’s viewing areas free and non-ticketed for people who want to enjoy the fireworks displays on New Year’s Eve.

The decision was taken because Council believes that everybody in Sydney should be able to enjoy unrestricted access to the fireworks on New Year’s Eve, regardless of their income.

The best free and non-ticketed viewing areas in the Inner West include;

  • Yurulbin Park, Birchgrove
  • Birchgrove Park, Birchgrove
  • Ballast Point Park, Birchgrove
  • Elkington Park, Balmain
  • Mort Bay Park Balmain
  • Simmons Point, East Balmain
  • Lookes Avenue Reserve, East Balmain
  • Thornton Park, East Balmain
  • Illoura Reserve, East Balmain

The new Rozelle Parklands also offers a fantastic view but the owners, Transport for NSW, have declared it free but ticketed for New Year’s Eve.

The Balmain Peninsula will be closed to non-resident, private vehicles from 3.00PM on New Year’s Eve, however buses and ferries will continue to run.

For media enquiries please contact Jonny Browne,

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 07 Mar 2024