Adventure awaits at National Simultaneous Storytime

National Simultaneous Storytime (NSS) will be held across three Inner West libraries next week as part of an annual campaign that aims to encourage more young Australians to read and enjoy books.

Every year, the Australian Library and Information Association selects one Australian picture book to be read simultaneously nationwide in libraries, schools, pre-schools, childcare centres, family homes, bookshops and many other places around the country.

Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville libraries are the three Inner West official venues for the nationwide event to be held next Wednesday, 23 May.

Now in its 18th successful year, this year NSS will feature ‘Hickory Dickory Dash’, written by Tony Wilson and illustrated by Laura Wood (published by Scholastic).

The book will appeal ideally to children aged 3-5 years and explores age-appropriate themes as well as addressing key learning areas of the National Curriculum for Foundation to Year 6.

Readings will occur at the following Inner West Council library branches on Wednesday, 23 May.

Ashfield Library
11am-11:45am (No bookings required)
Leichhardt Library
11am-11:45am (Bookings or call 9392 5966)
Marrickville Library
10:30am-11:30am (No bookings required)

In 2017, over 686,324 participants in over 6,129 locations registered across Australia and took part in National Simultaneous Storytime, reading the book The Cow Tripped Over the Moon, also written by Tony Wilson and illustrated by Laura Wood, while enjoying a range of supporting educational activities, songs, games, dress ups and lots of fun.

NSS is held annually as part of Library and Information Week.

For more information on NSS, view or Council’s website.

For media inquiries, contact Brendan Berecry on 9392 5218.


Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful0% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 30 Jul 2018