Accelerated footpath renewal program almost complete

Monday 7 June 2021

Council has almost completed the $4.4 million Footpath Renewal Program, undertaken as part of last year’s stimulus program of fast-tracking infrastructure works to boost the Inner West economy during the COVID pandemic.

The program is delivering the upgrade of all of Council’s category 4 and 5 footpaths, the most damaged and in need of repair, across the municipality.

Council prioritised infrastructure in the past two budgets, which have been focused on stimulating the local economy, delivering new infrastructure and fixing ageing infrastructure.

“Last year, Council resolved to pool its developer contributions reserves and fast track $20 million for the delivery of projects such as road, footpath and stormwater works,” said Inner West Mayor Darcy Byrne.

“We did this because of the significant impact of COVID-19 crisis on the local economy. Council decided to actively work with local residents and businesses and spend big on infrastructure to help generate the recovery.

“Getting the basics right is Council’s most important responsibility. We are seeing the results of this approach with the renewal of all our most unsafe and dilapidated footpaths.

“This investment will strengthen the Inner West, stimulate the local economy, and improve amenity across the entire local government area,” Mayor Byrne said.

The program will deliver new concrete and asphalt footpaths in all Council wards:

Baludarri (Balmain Ward):

Annandale: Trafalgar Street, Piper Street South, Piper Street North, Pritchard Street, Railway Parade, Johnstone Street, Hutchinson Street, Collins Street, Piper Street, Macquarie Street

Lilyfield: Hubert Street, Lamb Street, Catherine Street, Graham Street, Francis Street, Frazer Street

Rozelle: Elizabeth Street, Quirk Street

Balmain: Mort Street

Gulgadya (Leichhardt Ward):

Leichhardt: Upward Street, The Avenue, North Avenue, South Avenue, Day Street, White Street, William Street, Allen Street, Cary Street, Flood Street

Croydon: Lang Street, Edwin Street

Haberfield: Tillock Street

Djarrawunang (Ashfield Ward):

Dulwich Hill: Hampstead Street, Cobar Street, Jesmond Avenue, Manchester Street, Dulwich Hill, Ross Street

Ashfield: Albert Parade, Alt Street, John Street, Margaret Street, Henry Street, Nixon Avenue,

Ashbury: Princess Street

Damun (Stanmore Ward):

Petersham: Albert Street

Stanmore: Cambridge Street, Railway Avenue

Enmore: Stanmore Road

Lewisham: Cook Street

Midijuburi (Marrickville Ward):

Marrickville: Agar Street, Byrnes Street, Frampton Avenue, Glen Street, Leicester Street, Lilydale Street, Livingstone Road, Queen Street, Warburton Street, Wardell Road, Livingstone Road

Tempe: Quarry Street, Station Street

St Peters: Silver Street

The Footpath Renewal Program is expected to be completed by the end of June 2021.

For a print quality image, contact the Communication team.

For media enquiries, contact Elizabeth Heath, Media and Communications Coordinator, 9392 5334 or

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful50.00% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful50.00% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 07 Jun 2021