Council urges: Check or update enrolment details

Monday 17 July 2017

Inner West Council is encouraging all citizens to check their enrolment details are correct, as the local government elections fast approach.


The Inner West Council election is now less than eight weeks away.

Voting is compulsory in areas where elections are being held (such as Inner West Council), and the NSW electoral commission is urging all voters to check they are correctly enrolled at the enrolment verification facility.

While the electoral rolls for each council area will be printed at 6pm on Monday 31 July, it is still possible to update names or addresses at a pre-poll venue or polling place, through a process known as ‘Enrol and Vote’.

Pre-poll voting is open from Monday 28 August to Friday 8 September at:

  • Ashfield Service Centre, 260 Liverpool Road Ashfield
  • Inner West Returning Officer's Office, 373-383 Illawarra Road Marrickville
  • Leichhardt Town Hall, 107 Norton Street Leichhardt
  • Sydney Town Hall, 483 George Street Sydney 

Non-resident ratepayers (eg businesses) can also apply to vote. Claims for inclusion on the non-residential roll must be submitted to Council by 6pm, 31 July 2017. For more information visit Vote NSW residential rolls web page.

Council is also calling for diversity among councillor nominees, and is particularly urging women, young people and people from non-English speaking backgrounds to consider standing for election.

Two candidate information sessions are scheduled:

  • Leichhardt Service Centre, 7-15 Wetherill Street Leichhardt, Thursday 20 July, 6.30pm
  • Ashfield Service Centre, 260 Liverpool Road Ashfield, Tuesday 15 August, 6.30pm 

RSVP to Council by emailing

The NSW Electoral Commission provides videos, presentations and information on the six steps to becoming a candidate for local government elections. Visit the Vote NSW website for more information on candidates and groups.

The local government elections are now just two months away, and the electoral commission is urging all eligible voters to check their enrolment details are correct.

On Saturday 9 September 2017, voters will elect 15 new councillors – three for each of the five wards.

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful0% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful0% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 04 Aug 2018