Codes and policies

Inner West Council has a number of codes and policies that provide additional information and guidance to the controls within the relevant Local Environmental Plan (LEP) and Development Control Plan (DCP).

Inner West Council was created in 2016 from a merger of Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville councils. Until a combined set of codes and policies are developed for the new council, the codes and policies from the former councils still apply within their former boundaries.

If you're not sure which former council area is relevant to you, see the list of suburbs under each heading.

Former Ashfield Council area

List of suburbs in the former Ashfield Council area

  • Ashbury
  • Ashfield
  • Croydon
  • Croydon Park
  • Haberfield
  • Hurlstone Park
  • Summer Hill

Former Leichhardt Council area

List of suburbs in the former Leichhardt Council area

  • Annandale
  • Balmain
  • Balmain East
  • Birchgrove
  • Camperdown (north of Parramatta Road)
  • Leichhardt
  • Lilyfield
  • Rozelle

Former Marrickville Council area

Applies to the following suburbs:

List of suburbs in the former Marrickville Council area

  • Camperdown (south of Parramatta Road)
  • Dulwich Hill
  • Enmore
  • Lewisham
  • Marrickville
  • Newtown
  • Petersham
  • Stanmore
  • St Peters
  • Sydenham
  • Tempe


Your Say Inner West website
The community engagement hub where you can get involved in important projects that shape the future of the Inner West.





Follow the links below to find contact details and services in your area: