2021 NSW Local Government elections

4 December 2021

Local Government elections across NSW, including Inner West Council, have been postponed until 4 December 2021.

Voting is compulsory. Your vote helps determine who will represent your ward on the Council for a three year term.

Local residents and ratepayers will have the opportunity on 4 December 2021 to vote for candidates as elected representatives of Inner West Council.

Electoral rolls for residents

At election time, the NSW Electoral Commission verifies these rolls to ensure individuals on it are entitled to vote. The Commission then includes them on the authorised roll of residents and non-residents to be used for that election.

If you are a resident in the Inner West Council area, you can check if your enrolment details are up to date with the NSW Electoral Commission.

You must enter your details exactly as they appear on the electoral roll. Inner West Council does not hold electoral information for local residents and all enquiries should be directed to the NSW Electoral Commission. For all enquiries please call 1300 135 736.

Non-residential rolls register

If you're not a resident, you may be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in the local area as a corporation, business or individual. You must register with Inner West Council. Check if you're eligible below:

Eligibility criteria for the non-residential register

You may be entitled to vote as a non-resident if you own, occupy or lease rateable property (excluding utility lots) in the Inner West Council Local Government Area and you are not already enrolled to vote as a resident of Inner West Council. You may be entitled in your own right as an individual or as a nominated company officer (or equivalent) of a corporation.

How to enrol as a non-resident

If you are eligible, please complete the appropriate form below and return it to Council to get on the Inner West Non-residential register.

The completed form must be returned to Council by 6pm, Monday 25 October 2021 and can be returned to Council to:

Mail to: PO Box 14, Petersham NSW 2049
Email to: council@innerwest.nsw.gov.au 


De-amalgamation poll

At the election, Inner West citizens will also be asked:

“In May 2016, Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville councils were amalgamated into one local government area by the State Government.

Do you support the Inner West local government area being de-amalgamated, so as to restore the former local government areas of Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville?”

On 8 June 2021, Council resolved to conduct the poll.  The new elected Council will receive the results and determine how to proceed.

Inner West Council commissioned Morrison Low to undertake a high-level cost benefit assessment case, to identify the benefits and costs of a potential de-amalgamation of the Inner West Council into its former councils of Ashfield Council, Leichhardt Council and Marrickville Council. 

Read the Full de-amalgamation cost benefit report (PDF 1.5MB) here 
Read the Summary de-amalgamation cost benefit report (PDF 154.8KB)

Read the letter from Kiersten Fishburn, Coordinator General, Planning Delivery and Local Government to Peter Gainsford, General Manager, Inner West Council (PDF 60.7KB)

Serve your community as an elected representative

If you're passionate about what happens in your local community, becoming a Councillor is an exciting opportunity to make a difference and to represent the interests of residents.

The NSW Electoral Commission has information on becoming an elected representative.

For more information on how to become a Councillor visit the Office of Local Government

Thinking of nominating as a candidate?

Online Candidate Training tool

Candidate information

The NSW Electoral Commission has information about becoming a candidate and the process for becoming a candidate 

Candidate information sessions 

Council held 1 candidate information session on Wednesday 21 July 2021.

Council is holding one further candidate information sessions:

  • Wednesday 20 October, 6pm: location - TBC

To register for the sessions please contact:  katherine.paixao@innerwest.nsw.gov.au


Inner West Council has a total of fifteen councillors, made up of three councillors per ward.

Councillors were elected in September 2017 for a three-year term. Council elections were postponed from 2020 to September 2021 due to COVID-19. In July 2021, the election was again postponed to 4 December 2021 due to Covid-19.

The Mayor is elected from amongst their peers for a term of two years. The Deputy Mayor may be elected for the same term as the Mayor or a shorter term, as determined by the Council.


Ashfield - Djarrawunang (Magpie) Ward

Includes: Ashfield, Summer Hill, Dulwich Hill and Croydon Park

Balmain - Baludarri (Leather Jacket) Ward

Includes: Balmain, Balmain East, Birchgrove, Rozelle and Lilyfield

Leichhardt - Gulgadya (Grass Tree) Ward

Includes:  Leichhardt, Annandale, Haberfield and Croydon

Marrickville - Midjuburi (Lillypilly) Ward

Includes:  Marrickville, Sydenham, St Peters, Tempe and Mascot

Stanmore - Damun (Port Jackson Fig) Ward

Includes:  Stanmore, Petersham, Lewisham, Camperdown, Newtown and Enmore

See the detailed Map of Inner West Wards


Details  Date
Close of non-residential rolls (6pm) 25 October 2021
Candidate nominations open
25 October 2021
Close of candidate nominations (12 noon)  3 November 2021
Close of registration of candidates and groups (12 noon)  3 November 2021 
Registration of electoral materials open
3 November 2021
Caretaker period commences  5 November 2021
Pre-poll voting period opens*  22 November 2021 
Registration of electoral materials close (5pm) 26 November 2021
Postal vote applications close (5pm)  29  November 2021
Close of pre-poll voting period (6pm)
3 December 2021
Election day (voting from 8am-6pm)*  4 December 2021 
Return of postal votes close (6pm)
17 December 2021
 Anticipated date for results to be declared (progressively as counts are finalised by Election Manager)  21-23 December 2021

* Further details of pre-poll voting and polling locations will be released in future.

Rate this page

  • Rate as The content was useful57.14% The content was useful votes
  • Rate as The content was not useful42.86% The content was not useful votes

Thanks for your feedback. We will use this data to improve the content of this page.

Page last updated: 23 Sep 2021