

ASHFIELD TRAFFIC COMMITTEE - AGENDA 7 AUGUST 2015

ASHFIELD TRAFFIC COMMITTEE

The Ashfield Traffic Committee has no decision-making powers and is primarily a technical review committee. It only advises the elected Council on matters for which the Council has delegated authority. The Committee operates under Roads and Maritime Services 'A guide to the delegation to councils for the regulation of traffic'. In summary:

- Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) has delegated certain aspects of the control of traffic on regional and local roads to Council. A condition of this delegation is that Council must refer all traffic related matters to the Traffic Committee prior to exercising its delegated functions.
- The four voting members on the Traffic Committee are:
 - o Council's representative (chair)
 - o NSW Police representative
 - o RMS representative
 - State Member of Parliament representative for the electorate containing the item. The State electorates in Ashfield Local Government area include: Summer Hill, Strathfield, and Canterbury.
- The meeting does not need a specific quorum, however any advice can only be returned to the elected Council if the views of NSW Police and RMS have been obtained.
- The Ashfield Traffic Committee operates as a closed meeting and attendance to the meeting is via invitation only. At times interested stakeholders may address items referred to the Traffic Committee where their information adds value and does not greatly increase the time spent by the Committee on progressing the item. Interested stakeholders always have the opportunity to attend the elected Council meeting when the minutes of the Traffic Committee are discussed / determined.
- All formal items referred to the Traffic Committee typically have been fully investigated, consulted (if needed) and proposed actions identified.
- Where the elected Council decides on an item contrary to the Traffic Committee recommendation, then Council must immediately advise RMS and NSW Police in writing of its decision. The RMS or NSW Police may then lodge an appeal within 14 days to the Regional Traffic Committee.
- The Council must not action any item under appeal until the matter has been determined by the Regional Traffic Committee.







DATE: FRIDAY 7 AUGUST 2015 AT 9.30am

VENUE: LEVEL 6, ASHFIELD CIVIC CENTRE, 260 LIVERPOOL ROAD, ASHFIELD.

The Ashfield Traffic Committee operates as a closed meeting and attendance is via invitation only.

BUSINESS:

- A. Attendees and apologies.
- B. Ashfield Traffic Committee minutes of 5 June 2015 and Council's resolution at its meeting on the 23 June 2015: That the minutes of the Ashfield Traffic Committee held on the 5 June 2015 be confirmed and that the recommendations contained in the Minutes be adopted with the exception of Item 008 Visibility Concerns: Intersection of Church Street and Croydon Road.
- C. Next meeting of the Ashfield Traffic Committee will be held at 9:30am on Friday 2 October 2015 at Level 6, Ashfield Civic Centre, 260 Liverpool Road, Ashfield.

FORMAL ITEMS:

Items which require the elected Council to exercise its delegation functions.

	o Parking (drop off / pickup) zone outside St. Patrick's atholic Primary School - Drynan Street, Summer Hill	Parking restrictions	SH
2. Di	isabled Parking Space – 2 King Street, Ashfield	Parking restrictions	SH
3. No	o Parking zone – Hugh Lane, Ashfield	Parking restrictions	SH
4. No	o Stopping zone adjustments – Palace Street, Ashfield	Parking restrictions	SH
	emoval of No Parking and disabled parking zone – awthorne Parade, Haberfield	Parking restrictions	SH

⁽SH) - Summer Hill Electorate

INFORMAL ITEMS:

Items progressed with members outside of the formal Traffic Committee meeting and require the elected Council to exercise its delegation functions.

6.	UTS Bay Run - Sunday 11 October 2015	Special Event	SH
7.	Australian Air Force Cadets Annual Street Procession in Ashfield - Sunday 2 August 2015	Special Event	SH
8.	Annual Spring Cycle Event – Sunday 18 October 2015	Special Event	SH

GENERAL BUSINESS:

Items which require no action and are for information purposes only. These items are not reported to Council.

⁽S) – Strathfield Electorate (C) – Canterbury Electorate